Hatteras Island Mandatory Evacuation


A Mandatory Evacuation has been issued for all visitors to Hatteras Island beginning Saturday morning, July 29 at 6am EST. Until further notice, travelers with overnight lodging planned in the communities of Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo, Avon, Buxton, Frisco and Hatteras will not be permitted on the island. Areas north of Oregon Inlet are on a completely different power grid and are NOT affected by the power outage, nor included in the Evacuation of Hatteras Island. The towns of Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head, Manteo and the communities of Roanoke Island and the Dare County mainland are fully open and welcoming visitors as usual. Please contact your lodging provider with questions specific to your arrangements. 

For the full bulletin see the Dare County Emergency Management update page. 

Also see the Cape Hatteras Electric Cooperative FB page for continuing updates on the power utility repairs and service. 

View Accommodation Vacancies for displaced travelers.