Ralph Hardy signs children's adventure Argos

Island Bookstore - Duck
1177 Duck Road
Scarborough Faire Shops
Duck, NC 27949-4553
June 20, 2018
Send Email Visit Website
Details

Phone: 252-261-8981

Time: 11AM-1PM

Price: All Readers Welcome

Join us in welcoming North Carolina children's author Ralph Hardy for a signing of his book, Argos: The Story of Odysseus as Told by his Loyal Dog. Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and the Warriors series. 

From a compelling new voice in middle grade literature comes a reimagination of The Odyssey told from the point of view of Odysseus’s loyal dog. Argos is a thrilling tale of loyalty, determination, and adventure.

For twenty years, the great hero Odysseus struggles to return to Ithaka. After ten years beneath the walls of Troy, he begins the long journey back home. He defeats monsters. He outsmarts the Cyclops. He battles the gods. He does whatever it takes to reunite with his family.

And what of that family—his devoted wife, Penelope; his young son, Telemachos; his dog, Argos? For those twenty years, they wait, unsure whether they will ever see Odysseus again. But Argos has found a way to track his master. Any animal who sets foot or wing on Ithaka brings him news of Odysseus’s voyage—and what a voyage it is!

These tales bring hope that one day his master will return. Meanwhile, Argos watches over his master’s family and protects them from the dangers that surround a throne without its king. This rousing story of devotion and determination is an original take on one of the most beloved myths of all time.

 

What’s Nearby